Pada tahun1979 sewaktu saya ke Sabah dan meminjam dari Perpustakaan negeri Sabah sebuah buku yang menarik perhatian saya yang sendiri telah lupa akan tajuknya,namun ada bahagian dari buku itu yang benar2 menarik perhatian saya sehinggakan saya mencatitnya.Melalui blog ini saya kongsikan bersama artikal tersebut yang berbahasa Inggeris.Saya membuatnya 2 bahagian untuk bacaan semua.

Bahagian 1

THE MORTAL   :

What happen after death .

THE SOUL           :

( Remain Silence )

THE MORTAL    :

I ask again  what happen after death.

THE SOUL       :

Who are you who speak.

THE MORTAL  :

I am just a man.My name imports nothing  for  I speak on behalf of all my  brother.we who like gladiators are about to die salute thee caesar who art reputed death less and a god.

THE SOUL        :

Who is it that dies.

THE MORTAL   :

This body dies and is no more. there are  those among us who hold that with it all is at an end,earth to earth, air to air there is no life but what is in the body.

THE SOUL        :

Yet when you sleep and dream your body is unconscious though you still see and hear,feel joy and pain, who is this you that sees and hear without the body help

THE MORTAL   :

I know what you would say, that in dream we have experience in a subtle body which also survives death.That is a superstition of the past which arose when men knew nothing of the true nature of dream but now we know that they are caused by repressed desires,desires which in our wakening life are denied expression.

THE SOUL        :

You are entangled in a web of words.Do things become different because you give them different names.In those past ages which you so dispise,it was also taught  that the dream body was the body of desire,yes of desires of which the waking ego was not concious.Have you not heard the impression of anything remaining unconciously in the mind the unforgotten longings of the past.your eyes are blinded by the shadow that you call material things,so that you see no reality save what is physical.I ask again what is the “you” who dreams.

THE MORTAL   :

What ever it is, it is not “I” myself,for those desires that find expression in my dreams are those that have been rejected by my personality.they seem to belong to a being that is wider and deeper than my being  one whose memory is greater than my memory , and  whose standards and judgements are not my own.Whose are the dreams ? Shall I not say those of a great unconscious life in which myself is but a patch of foam, a wave,a passing form that moves  upon the sea  which gave it birth.

THE SOUL        :

Even against your will you see the truth,save that you wrongly term that life “unconscious” because forsooth you are not conscious of it.I tell you that nowhere in the  universe  is there life without consciousness,and nowhere consciousness that is not life.Your personality is indeed a pattern on the surface of the sea,a pattern which by law  has come to be,which changes hourly,and in time wll cease,it was the wind of desire that brought that wave,that pattern, into being , they speed it on it course, changing it every moment , and only when those winds grow calm and cease,not  at what you call death, will it subside once more into the sea.If you believe yourself to be that wave than you will surely die and be no more for pattern ever change giving birth to new. In truth , you die at every moment and not at “death” alone,since for two moment you are not the same , but change  and change for ever.are you so pleased with the pattern you call yourself that you would have it endure for all eternity.?

THE MORTAL   :

By no means . But I would perfect the pattern and in perfected form enjoy  eternal life.

THE SOUL           :

And you may.But then you must identify yourself with that unchanging being out of which all pattern rise. More over no patterns are perfect in and for themselves but only the great pattern of the whole. I am that whole and therefore if you seek eternal life it is in me and not in any finite part that you must live.

THE MORTAL   :   

But  I , I , I  it seem that that life you promise will no longer be myself,that I must go out as the flame of a candle,and my precious uniqueness be lost in something which I cannot feel to be myself.

THE SOUL        :

If it is self you seek , your precious uniqueness, as you call it, then you are right.Do

what you will that self must change and pass.it cannot stand forever.But I tell you

that the self to which you cling is a source of fear to you,the hard and knotted root of all your sorrow.Why should you cling to what brings naught to you but tears,and why with foolish and likes eyes do you see only the passing wave and not the water of which the wave is made ?Know that you are the water not the wave all your grief is gone you are immortal.

THE MORTAL   :

Perhaps but still your immortality seem cold to me.What of my memory the record of my joys and griefs my loves and hates my struggles and my failure ? What is the immortality in which all that has happened to me,all that I have done is lost.All I have striven for of good all I have seen of beauty will be lost as if it had never been.

THE SOUL        :

Not so , for memory remains in me.Goodness and beauty can exist in me alone for both are aspects of the one harmonious whole not of the warring parts.While you are a self,you catch but fitful glimpses of the wondrous pattern that is in me.I am the tree of which you are the leaves.I send you forth and fed you with my sap to breathe the sunlight and the air of summer.You fall and wither but the air and light you gathered is not lost.it enters into me and lives on in me becoming that life blood with which after the night of winter you go forth again.

THE MORTAL   :

Not so indeed !it is another leap that is put forth next year,and so it seems it will not be I who am born again but someone  new an heir to me perhaps but not myself.

THE SOUL        :

You self your self! can you not lose that self ? Have you not heard the ancient saying “ he who would save his soul shall lose it “those words came from one who knew me to the full and therefore was able also to say“heaven and earth shall pass away but my words shall not pass away”  all who have know me have known this, and in various words have striven to teach their fellows.all that is true good and beautiful in you shall live eternally in me as all that is useful in the food you eat lives on in you. Why should you seek to keep the worthless cross ?

THE MORTAL    :

Words,words,words ! I come to you seeking to know my fate and you like the oracles of the ancient world,put me off with pictures and riddling words.I do not under stand your waves,your leaves,your food.you will exhaust the universe with metaphors, and still I do not understand do not accept your meaning.

THE SOUL        :

There you have spoken, you do not accept the truth.as for my words what would you have of me ? I spoke the truth first in  silence but you heard it not.you would have words and what are words but pictures.even those abstracts words of which you now adays make so much use are in the end but pictures taken from your sense experience and sense experience as even you must  know  is mortal.how can the mortal reveal the unmortal ? Yet if you will but use your words as windows and look through them not build them as a wall to hide behind even  though those words you may behold the wordless truth.

THE MORTAL   :

Will you tell me plainly what takes place at death ?

THE SOUL        :

Plainly I told you,Listen now again.When you young there was a life in you that rose within your being as the sap within a tree. your body grew and with it grew your mind till like the summer sun it reached mid heaven and behold the earth spread out before its gaze.King like it gazes warming  with its own glory the world of things and living in the warmth.But there it could not  stay for all things change and that which rises up must fall again.Slowly that ebb set in.the life that warm the things again will drew,your body hardened and grew cold in its recesses your mind, though with regret retired within itself,turning its back upon the world without,to live in its own memorise and were it wise to seek infinity within its own cool depths.Is it not so and is it not for this that you have come to me in search of knowledge of the land of  the death,a land for which you cared but  little while the tide of life flowed outward from eyes ?

THE MORTAL   :

Your words are true.say on.

THE SOUL        :

That life of which I speak,that life which is your self,sinks down into your heart, Until at length your body grows all cold and moves but feebly,answering no more The rudder  of your will.Now comes  the end ;it ceases , it is dead..the mind-